Menu

Search

Knowledge Base


13873: Username and Password Request During Network Mapping


Networks + Operating Systems

When attempting to map my workstation to my server, why am I asked for a username and password?

If password-protected sharing is turned on, the person with whom you want to share a folder on your computer must have a user account and password to access shared items. When you attempt to access a password-protected shared folder you will be presented with a request for a user account and password for the computer on which the folder is stored.

Generally, password-protected sharing is turned on by default.  For more information, see the Microsoft website.

To resolve any issues with password-protected sharing, especially when mapping a network, please seek assistance from an I.T. professional or your administrator.


Also In This Category


Details
Article has been viewed 5.7K times.
Last Modified: 3 Years Ago
Options